on subduing creation

I started the day by hacking aspens out of my planting beds. These were smaller than the aspens I rooted out before, and the work went much more quickly. I spent the evening watering the lawn and uprooting various weeds sprouting up in other beds.

In my younger years this work would have driven me mad. The tedium, the dirt, the tugging, the bugs. I’m sure you were a better child than I and didn’t mind doing the yard work your parents assigned you. But I’m lazy, and a punk to boot, so yard work only produced whining and complaining from me.

But today I kind of enjoyed it. Not too much.  Not in-and-of itself. Not the kind of enjoyment where I want to do it again as soon as possible. But it was satisfying. When I finished, I stood up, surveyed the beds and thought, That’s better. Removing what doesn’t belong, caring for what does–it’s work, but it’s pretty good work.

About Chrissie Reinhart

Christian, wife, mother; striving to strive.
This entry was posted in Landscaping, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

