insulation

My house did not originally have a basement. Some time in the 70’s the then-owners excavated under the foundation, added stairs down the back porch and created a basement.

The back porch is also an add-on. It has a cinderblock foundation with no insulation.

It gets cold under there, so I thought I’d fix it because “under there” is actually inside the house–in my laundry/mud room.

The solution:

 

I lined the perimeter with straw bales.

They didn’t reach all the way up the cinderblock, so I might have to get in there and adjust–or add another layer if I can squeeze one in–but I think it’s helping.

About Chrissie Reinhart

Christian, wife, mother; striving to strive.
This entry was posted in House, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

